Tribute to Cameron

It’s October 2015. My first party conference. I just flew in to Manchester from New York. I don’t really know what I’m doing but somehow I just got through the crowds of protestors and press and find myself walking towards an auditorium. The room is filled with excitement. People elated; the first conference since the historic majority (General Election, 2015). They predicted a hung Parliament. For weeks, the polls were misleading and then Ed Balls lost his seat, Nigel Farage lost his seat, the SNPs won a lot of seats, and we got our sweet victory, a Conservative Majority.
 
I’m a little bewildered. There are too many recognisable public faces within my radius. Did I come through the wrong entrance? I turn to my left, hold up, the Prime Minister, David Cameron just brushed my shoulders. He turns to raise his hand at me to apologise. I flash him a no teeth smile (no time for teeth!), stand a little shaky, dazzled by what just happened.
 
Coldplay starts playing. Cameron makes his way backstage, before his victory video starts playing, and he’s greeted on stage with a standing ovation, his Cabinet united, together at the front.
 
Like Cameron, I found myself not to like everything about EU Regulations. I felt that certain aspects of law should be kept out of it. Like Cameron I wanted to stay in the EU; my euroscepticism was moderate and balanced. I didn’t want to leave, but change was needed.
 
The EU Referendum was something Cameron promised the people in his campaign manifesto. Something he delivered. The ‘people’ have spoken. It isn’t necessarily a reflection of everyone’s views. In fact, it doesn’t reflect a majority of views on my News Feed.
 
But it’s happened. Regardless of where your political views lie, it is important for us to reflect on this and educate others.
 
The Reform Act 1832 expanded the vote. Then the Suffragettes came. They came, they fought and they conquered. They got us the vote. Somewhere between having the right to vote the right became less of a privilege. The electorate appear to be easily sold to the propaganda in visuals, videos, campaigns and across the news, without taking a step out of their little bubbles.
 
Important for us to come together. My European friends, I love you just the same and I know that physical boundaries would never compromise our friendships.
 
Let’s call for more education. Important to educate people of our country and across the globe.. Make sure they know what their vote really stands for.
 
And for the other Cameronites, mourning the loss of our leader. Here’s a sweet, sweet song which always reminds me of the fairness, hope and change he brought to Britain. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyMhvkC3A84
Britain's Prime Minister David Cameron delivers his keynote address to the Conservative Party Conference in Birmingham
Britain’s Prime Minister David Cameron delivers his keynote address to the Conservative Party Conference in Birmingham, central England October 1, 2014. REUTERS/Darren Staples
Leave a Reply

