Florence for the evening (preferably).

From the gloomy, grey skies, to the dark, hidden, secretive codes, Florence is a magical, puzzling place.

The secretive codes, enchanting buildings and the mysterious atmosphere are enough to confirm that Florence, is always almost an excellent idea.

Some reasons why I left parts of me in Florence..

img_0009

Inside the famous Dumuo – we took a moment to make a little wish.

img_0014

We stayed just a few minutes from the famous Duomo.

Walking and seeing this place every time you left the hotel was certainly a real treat for the eyes.

img_0026

The entire time it rained, but there was something so soothing about just being there – the rain added to the atmosphere and made you appreciate the place a little more.

img_0029

So many book shops. I loved that there were so many books – a true Machiavellian city which made me appreciate my years of studying Machiavelli and the political rulers.

img_0036

No boundaries. In a time where there’s political chaos – from the rise to the left and populism, the wave of political uprisings certainly disappeared in a peaceful form.

The various scattered works of art just like this, symbolised a different form of expression – more meaningful and with a stroke of talent, something so powerful in itself.

img_0040

The fresh herbs – the food was simply sensational.

img_0046

This is my favourite photo of the lot. It symbolised a natural sense of belonging. The way the fluorescents resonated and lit up this antique place – it was as if the structures of the buildings and the patterns of each stone were just simply meant to be. I keep looking at this photo – it takes your mind off whatever your’e thinking.

Really powerful and enriching – beautiful.

img_0050

More mythology… and ancient history…and all of that. Just can’t get enough of it!

img_0053

This one feels like it was just a dream – did this even happen – is that a painted sky?

img_0056

Nope. It really happened.

img_0064

Yup, can’t quite believe it still. Breathtaking view.

img_0081

I love running water.

Walking by the water just makes you come back to life. It’s an essential element and something purifying about being by the water.

img_0145

I also love it when the skies meet the water.

Makes you realise we really do live on planet Earth.

img_0153

At night, the Duomo again is breathtaking.

It looks as though it’s actually lit up – but it’s the architecture of the building – really quite something.

img_0157

For some time now E.M. Foster’s ‘A Room with a View’ has been sitting on my shelf.

Yeah, I think this view could quite possibly inspire me to endlessly write.

img_0158

Without the flash – again, not enough words can  really sum up this view.

img_0190

Carousels.

img_0209

This one’s for David.

David, if you’re reading. this one’s for you.

img_0212

I went not intending to spend more than the Euros I’d transferred.

I have no regrets, but I definitely made a hole in my bank account!

img_0214

Pasta Station. Still can’t get over this.

img_0226

Just before I left to head to Pisa Airport, one last stroll along the bridges.

img_0273

Dreamy, gloomy dreams…

img_0276

And of course the Renaissance.

img_9984

Ciao Firenze!

img_9988

Pizza by the slice hehehe.

img_9991

Now that’s what I’m talking about nom nom nom.

Firenze, I’ll come back for the scattered pieces of my heart some day.

Maybe for some of that famous Tuscan sun..

But for now I can only hope they become a part of the furniture.

Ciao bellas!

Leave a Reply

